The Radio Cure | Volume 2.2

These United States | Photo by Shervin Lainez

The Radio Cure provides you a smattering of great tracks (all at once!) to cure you of your radio blues. If you don’t know, now you know. The second volume of 2012 features nine tracks, all available for free download, that you can easily slap on a mix CD and call it a day. Do it, to it.

These United States – Born Young
This is the second single of the fifth LP that comes out in May. The album features collaborations with Deer Tick, Cotton Jones, Phosphorescent, The Mynabirds, Ben Sollee, Langhorne Slim, Revival, and the entire Frontier Ruckus band. Hubba hubba.

The Spring Standards – Here We Go
Just last week, we picked the band’s “Only Skin” as our Pajammy Jam of the Day. The band’s crunchier “Here We Go” is now available for your downloading pleasure. The yellow//gold double EP is due out May 1st on Parachute Shooter Records.

JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound – Sister Ray Charles
“Sister Ray Charles” is the second single off the band’s 2011 Want More. If you haven’t heard the album, then you’ve missed the dance party. Thank goodness the band is playing a FREE brunch show this Sunday at Lola in Saint Louis. Be there or be square.

The Waco Brothers and Paul Burch – Great Chicago Fire
The tune combines the Waco Brothers’ Chicago blue-collar country via punk rock stomps, with Paul Burch’s Nashville stylized approach to traditional country. The album of the same name comes out April 24th on Bloodshot.

Ane Brun – Neighbourhood #1 (Tunnels) (Arcade Fire cover)
The Norwegian singer-songwriter puts her unique spin on Arcade Fire’s “Neighbourhood #1 (Tunnels).” The song will be available on the iTunes Exclusive version of It All Starts With One, out May 1st via America. The album also features First Aid Kit and Jose Gonzalez. Yahoo! Google!

Fixers – Another Lost Apache
The Oxford-based psychdelic pop quintet Fixers has announced their forthcoming EP, Pop Meat/Your Corruptor, which will see a release on April 24th on Dolphin Love Records.

Bowerbirds – Tuck the Darkness In
A tender turn for Bowerbirds, “Tuck the Darkness In” is exactly the song for putting yourself to bed at night. The Clearing is out now on Dead Oceans.

Literature – Criminal Kids
Jangle-pop all the way! Austin’s Literature is making a splash on the music scene, and you can judge for yourself with the single “Criminal Kids.” Arab Spring is out now on Austin Town Hall Records. 

Seventeen Evergreen – Fluorescent Kind
San Francisco’s Seventeen Evergreen are back with the sophomore effort, Steady On, Scientist!, via Lucky Number. Download “Fluorescent Kind” and welcome them back.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment