Jam of the Day | EELS – “Looking Up”

Excitedly, we announced last month that EELS had announced the third album in its recent bout of prolificacy and a world tour beginning in the fall. Titled Tomorrow Morning, this effort completes the trilogy (following Hombre Lobo and End Times) that “finishes the story on a high note.” This is EELS’ ninth LP in fourteen years, and it finds the band creating its most uplifting music yet. I mean, look at frontman Mark Oliver Everett up there in that picture, just boxing the pain away. Blue skies, baby.

With playful lyrics, fierce handclaps, and beatific tambourine, it’s clear that E’s disposition has done a 180. This song borders on blue eyed soul in a way that makes me want to jump out of my chair and dance. Dance, I said!

Oh, what a change is here! And it’s a welcome one, at that.

Download “Looking Up” from Tomorrow Morning:

Tomorrow Morning Tracklisting:
01 in gratitude for this magnificent day
02 i’m a hummingbird
03 the morning
04 baby loves me
05 spectacular girl
06 what i have to offer
07 this is where it gets good
08 after the earthquake
09 oh so lovely
10 the man
11 looking up
12 that’s not her way
13 i like the way this is going
14 mystery of life

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment